Chinese Lunar New Year Parade

02Mar10
After many years of saying I’ll go downtown for the Chinese Lunar New Year parade and never actually going I finally made it down there. While the turnout was impressive the parade was a little less than what I had imagined. The parade started at 2pm, I got off the Metro at 2:05pm and by 2:25pm the parade was over. Considering the size of Washington DC’s Chinatown I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised; there’s a reason it’s called “Chinablock.” The participants were very spirited though and it was fun to watch the dragons and lions dance around. The kids were having a blast and overall it was a festive event. I do wish that the city would help the parade organizers to raise money for a grander parade to celebrate the now small population of Chinese people living in Chinatown.
No Responses Yet to “Chinese Lunar New Year Parade”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

